Affiliated to Savitribai Phule Pune University - [PU/AN/AS/02/(1960)] (Jr./HSC/Id.No.J-12.14001)
NAAC Re-Accredited 'A' Grade College (CGPA - 3.22) ISO 9001:2008 CERTIFIED

 Department of political science

Department Home

Department of Political Science is established in the year 1960. Political Science as a special subject (UG) was introduced from 1974. Post graduate department of Political Science started from 1989. The faculties Prof. D. D. Shende, Prof. E. D. Auti, Prof. B. S. Tonde and Prof. Raut R R are working as a UG teachers as well as PG teachers. Students strength is increasing   day by day and at present 798 students are taking their education during Academic year 2017-18.

Department has ‘Departmental library’ for UG and PG students with 115 books and 09 journals. Department offers two short term courses such as “Personality Development’’ and Leadership Development to the UG students.   At present faculty of the department Prof. E. D. Auti, and Prof. B. S. Tonde has completed two minor research project entitled, Sthanik lokpratinidhinchya kaydevishayak sakshartecha abhyas and “Political participation of sugar cane- cutter in Dharur Taluka’’ respectively sanctioned by B.C.U.D., S P Pune University.

Department has organized three state level seminars since last five year. Seminar on “ Terrorism-A Challenges for India” held on 9&10 Mar 2012, “Protection of human rights-A challenge for India” held on 28&29 oct.2013. and seminar on “Political Illiteracy – A Challenge for India” held on 12 January 2016. Resently   faculty of the department Prof. Shende D.D. and Prof. B. S. Tonde are working on Ph.D. in S P Pune university and S R T M University Nanded respectively. Faculties of departments has attended 35 National and state level Conferences/seminars and They also published 15 research papers in various Conferences/seminars and journals.

The subject results of University examination are 59.37 % in 2016-17, 25.00% in 2015-16, 60.71% in 2014-15, 64.70 % in 2013-14, and 51.06 % in 2012-13 respectively and   21 students achieved first class with distinction from 2012-13. Department also organized various guest lectures for UG and PG students.